Summerlee Museum | Events

There’s so much to do and see, when you take a trip to Summerlee. Find out more about our upcoming events and exhibitions for 2019.

Entry is free, with small charges for some activities.


Monday 27 May 2019

The Vulcan: Scotland’s First Iron Boat Bi-Centenary 1819-2019

Canal activities and family fun to celebrate the Monklands’ historic contribution to boat building history.


Sunday 9 June 2019

International Archives Day

Meet the archivist at our stall from North Lanarkshire Archives to celebrate International Archives Day. Find out about North Lanarkshire’s industrial (and other) records and how to use them.


Saturday 15 & Sunday 16 June

Model Railway Show

Come and see a model railway layouts, model vehicles and more.


Saturday 29 June 2019 – Tuesday 13 August 2019

Summer Fun

Join us for family activities every day during the school holidays including the free Albion Rovers exhibition ‘A Game of Two Halves’.


Wednesday 7 August

National Play Day

Come and celebrate every child’s right to play. Bring a picnic and enjoy a fun-filled free day at the museum.


Saturday 10 & Sunday 11 August

Friends of Summerlee Steam Fair

See Summerlee’s steam fleet out and in steam alongside a number of visiting miniature steam traction engines, a miniature ride-on steam train, model engines and more!


Sunday 25 August 2019

Go Industrial Day

To commemorate the 200th anniversary of James Watt’s death, we’ll be stoking steam, peeping whistles and celebrating the master of innovation, James Watt.


Saturday 21 September 2019

Doors Open Day

Doors Open Day is Scotland’s largest free festival that celebrates heritage and the built environment. Join us for a behind the scenes tour of Summerlee Museum and it’s archives.


Friday 27 September 2019 to Monday 30 September 2019

Celebrate Albion Rovers Weekend

2019 marks 100 years since the Rovers moved to Cliftonhill. Join us for a weekend of football themed family activities.


Monday 14 October – Friday 18 October

October week

Halloween themed family activities every day of the school holidays.


Sunday 27 October

Halloween Fun Day

Spooky stories, a scary film, Halloween parties, a revolting trail and more!


Weekends in December and Christmas Eve

Father Christmas in Summerlee

Breakfast with Santa, Christmas parties and a chance to visit Father Christmas.